Republic of Serbia admitted to the Community of Portuguese Language Countries as an associate observer

CPLPThe Republic of Serbia was admitted as an associate observer to the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP), at the Organization’s solemn session on 16 July in the Republic of Cabo Verde. The Organization encompasses nearly 270 million people from the Portuguese-speaking territories.

Members of this Organization include Portugal, Brazil, Angola, Mozambique, Cabo Verde, Sao Tome and Principe, Equatorial Guinea, East Timor and Guinea Bissau.

The Community was established to develop and strengthen the political, economic and diplomatic relations and cooperation among its Member States. CPLP aims to promote cooperation in areas ranging from education, health, science, technology, defence, agriculture, administration, justice, public security, culture, sports, to media and communications.

At the same session, France, United Kingdom and Italy were admitted to the Community in the same capacity.